Contact Us : +1 703-817-9733, 571-426-8839 |

India International School and Cultural Center

About Us

Our Mission

To raise awareness of Indian culture and spirituality in the local community, celebrate cultural diversity, and serve as an integrated center for educational, social, spiritual and cultural services.



India International School and India Spiritual & Cultural Center (ISCS) is a non-profit and equal-opportunity educational institution, serving the community since 1982. The main objective of ISCS is to: provide quality education in the arts, spirituality, culture, religion, and languages of India; impart knowledge and skills to younger generations seeking personal growth and harmony with others, and sensitize the youth to basic human values and preservation of the environment. About 100 classes per week are taught by 35 teachers in core subjects including vocal and instrumental music, classical and modern dances, fine arts, Mythology from Hindu epics Yoga, and languages. ISCS students frequently perform at national and local community festivals, theater, radio, and television.

Children's Dharmic classes are conducted every Sunday. Several Yoga and meditation classes are offered every week. Special Dharmic rituals - Pooja, Havan, Spiritual assembly and discourse, etc. are performed on special occasions. Holi, Diwali, and other festivals are celebrated regularly. Local and visiting experts are occasionally invited to conduct presentations and seminars on Vedic literature, temple architecture, etc. The Center's Youth Group "Yuva Sum" is focussed on activities related to ethics, culture, traditions, etc. Mantra chanting, prayers, bhajans (devotional songs) are integral part of music, dance and language classes. 
In addition to regular classes in core subjects, IIS is home to many other learning opportunities: creative writing, critical thinking, public speaking, leadership, science technology engineering math (STEM), supplementing STEM by adding the Arts dimension (STEAM), emotional balance, financial management, in-house plays, and concerts. Series of workshops and seminars at IIS include - meditation, spiritual awareness, nutrition and health, history, literature, etc. IIS is also engaged in many volunteering programs including - boy scouts of America, feeding the hungry, annual drives for blood donation and bone marrow donor registration, and donations to other charitable organizations. We welcome collaboration with all compatible organizations.



Current Officers: •Vishwas Shirgaonkar (President)  •Sameer Chandra (Vice President) Vinod Chaudhary (Treasurer) •Manali Awasthi (Secretary) •Post Vacant (Administrative Assistant) 

Board of Directors: The Board of Directors provides policy directions and major decisions. All Directors work as volunteers. The current Directors are: •Vishwas Shirgaonkar (President and Chair) •Sameer Chandra (Vice President) •Nalin Jain •Vinod Chaudhary • Indira Kumar •Tanu Shrivastav •Rani Sisodia •Manali Awasthi •Usha Chaudhary •Priti Jain

Board of Trustees: The Trustees provide direction and guidance on vision and goals. The Trustees are: •Radhika Yadav •Indira Kumar •Gopal Yadav •Dhananjaya Kumar

 We are proudly serving Northern Virginia since 1982!